Year Book Class of 2003 Gives Scholarship to Students of the College of Medicine of the University of Lagos

On Friday, 24th January 2020, the Management received representatives of the Year Book Committee (YBC) 2003 in the board room of the College of Medicine Idi-Araba, Lagos to witness the presentation of scholarship to students who have excelled academically.

The Provost, Professor F.E.A. Lesi commended the set on behalf of the Management, Staff, and Students for giving scholarships to students who have excelled in their academics. He appreciated the Class for using academic excellence as an index for awarding scholarships. He enumerated a few areas where the Class could further impact students’ performance such as the provision of virtual teaching aids, computers, and renovation of aging structures. He advised them to involve the Management during the selection and payment processes of selected awardees in the future.

Dr. Victor Fakeye, spokesperson for the YBC ’03 class said that the idea for the scholarship was mooted as a result of the Provost’s meeting with the Alumni at the meeting of the Association of Nigerian Physicians in the Americas (ANPA) held in June 2019 in Washington DC, United States of America. He added that the Provost’s message of giving back to their alma mater was well received. He said that the foundation called MEDICUS Foundation was formed as a non-profit charity organization and duly registered with the Corporate Affairs Commission. The creation of the Organisation is solely for students in the College of Medicine, University of Lagos. He clarified the process of selecting the best three students for the award. He thanked the management for accepting them into the College and assured them that the scholarship would be a yearly event.

Also present at the event were Professor S.R.A Akinbo (Deputy Provost), Mr. O.A. Obafemi-Moses, FNIM (College Secretary), Mr. S.A. Akinade (Director of Finance), Engineer N.I. Sobande (Director of Engineering Services), Professor O.O. Odeyemi (Director of Students Affairs) and Dr. U.A.C. Okafor (General Secretary, MEDILAG Alumni); Alumni YBC ’03: Dr. Tosin Adenuga while the recipients of the award included; Deborah Oluwaseun Ojo, Oluwafemi Oluwaseye, and John Nwokocha.

Read more at: